Opening and Closing
1890 (see history) - 1935/36.
Physical and Map Location
April 1930. Patrons living near Clark's Gap school pledged to send children to the 1930/31 session, provided they have a satisfactory school. SOurce 2.5B Clark's Gap.
- 1886/87: John W. Lacock was teacher. (given date, this would indicate that the oral tradition of 1890 for construction is in error).
- 1906: a Union non-denominational Sunday School was run at the Clark's Gap school, but this service ended b y 1920.
- 1914. The Clark's Gap Literary Society was started.
- 1917, Dec 12. Emerick visited. (Emerick Journal, pg. 28)
- When school was closed in 1935/36, students were hauled to Hamilton.
- In 1920/21, student could not obtain text books at contract prices.
- Joshua Fletcher of Bluemont was the first instructor, according to Eugene Scheel.
- 1886/87: John W. Lacock (given date, this would indicate that the oral tradition of 1890 for construction is in error).
- 1887/90: Alice Beans
- 1918/1920: Edna McPherson Carr. Carr is an interesting character. She lived in Leesburg and was born 30 July 1895. When working at Clark’s Gap, she only had a high school degree, plus “one summer school.” She worked again for LCPS, but not until 1956/57, then at Sterling. According to the Teacher’s Record, in 1956 she only had 4 years and 4 months of experience. In 1919/20, she was also accredited with 4 years’ experience. See also study of 3.1.2 Journal of Oscar Emerick. Examination of pg. 1 of the journal.
- 1920/22: Retie Cooksey. (born 1902) Age 19 in 1920/21. Had one year of schooling experience. Graduated from Leesburg High School. Had no college or normal school training, however, that changed in 1921/22 as she was listed as having attended the University of Virginia. Entire career was at Clark's Gap. Eugene Scheel's history show the school closed in 1922 only to open a few years later, but this is oral tradition. Official records show it operating.
- 1922/23: Miss M.C. Compher. Age 23. Had graduated from state normal at Fredericksburg. Teacher operated on a professional certificate.
- 1923/24: Miss Janet D. Tavenner. Age 20. Had attended Harrisonburg State Normal.
- 1930/31. Miss Lula Porterfield, who also instructed at Cool Spring. See Loudoun Times Mirror, 7 Aug 1930, pg. 1.
- 1935/36. The last teachers were Willie Mae Fling (Clarence Ashby Fling's wife) and Irene Ashby.
Insurance and Physical Description
- Built in 1890 as a 1 one room frame school for the cost of $500. Walls were made of weather board. 1886 Register described school as square, with no grounds attached. 1887 register described school as owned b y School District.
- In 1920/21, heated by wood. State of repair was good. Toilet was sanitary in very good condition. the following year, was considered unsanitary but in very good condition. In 1922/23, toilets were listed as fair.
- No flag on the front of the school.
- Property was not enclosed.