Greggsville Colored

(Griggsville) (Mt. Gilead District)

Edited 8/18/2023

Research Questions: Was this also the Tate School Most records on this school are missing. Greggsville has been spelled in official records Greggsville and Griggsville.

Opening and Closing

The opening date is not known.   The earliest date showing students is 1918/19, but we suspect an earlier date., as we have teacher records dating back to 1887.   Closing date appears to be 1928/29 Academic year.

Physical and Map Location










  • 1887/88 and 1888/89.   Miss G.B. Sewall.  She lived in North Fork.  Source:  Catalog EWP: 3.3  Annual School Report for 1887-1889/
  • 1924/25.   Lewis W. Watson.  Watson, age 54, came with 21 years of experience and was a High School graduate.  Source:   Term Reports in EWP archives.
  • 1917/18:  Ralph Lewis of North Fork, Va.   3 years experience
  • 1925/26.  Myrtle Preston.  Source:   Term Reports.
  • 1926/27.  Mrs. Henrietta Wilson, born Aug 26, 1901.  This was her single year of teaching in the Loudoun system, as far as we can tell.  From Wilmington, Delaware.  Public school education and training at West Virginia State College.  Source:  Teachers Record.
  • 1927/28:   Christine Allen, of Clifton Station, was also a central figure in the story of Conklin Village. Allen was a member of one of the core families of Conklin which migrated to Loudoun with Hampton Brewer as freed Blacks. She became a Secretary at the Prosperity Baptist Church as well as an instructor at the Conklin Colored School. In addition, she studied at Armstrong Technical High School in Washington, DC from about 1927 to 1929, evidently, therefore, teaching while also studying.  Her LP (local) license was issued in 1927 and she was paid $45 a month to instruct for seven months.

Insurance and Physical Description

1924/27:  Insured by LCPS as a “colored” school for $350 in the Mt. Gilead District 1924/27.  Source:  EWP  #11 Insurance Record. Purcellville: Page 32/33.

Size of school lot was 1/2 unenclosed acre, according to 1924 Register.  One room school house constructed of weatherboard., heated b y a stove and ventilated by windows.   Very much need of repair in onward years.  Desks were home made.


According to 1924 Register, the toilets were closed character and very good.